Data sources
These are all the sources the site is built on. The counts below are read from the database when the page is shown, so they match what we have stored.
- 17 external data sources from 12 publishers.
- 15 public and 2 private data sources.
- 1,179,496 stored objects from the public sources (companies, roles, account years, municipality values, notices and the like).
Public sources
Published by the state or a public body. The source is credited where the data is used.
| Source | Used for | Licence | Stored |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Coordinating Register for Legal Entities Brønnøysundregistrene |
Which companies exist, industry code, municipality, status and roles (board and managing director). | NLOD 2.0 | Companies: 91,114 Roles: 345,644 |
| Register of Company Accounts Brønnøysundregistrene |
Annual accounts: income statement, balance sheet and key figures per company and year. | NLOD 2.0 | Account years: 239,938 |
| Public announcements Brønnøysundregistrene Not switched on |
Bankruptcy, restructuring, merger and dissolution for companies we follow. Only type, date, org. no. and link. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Announcements: 1,354 |
| StatBank (PxWebApi) Statistisk sentralbyrå (SSB) |
Municipality figures (work, business, finances, population), sector context, commuting and industry structure. | CC BY 4.0 | Municipality values: 62,832 Time series: 14,994 Commuting flows: 28,132 Industry values per municipality: 258,603 Sector values: 3,474 |
| Klass (classifications) Statistisk sentralbyrå (SSB) |
Municipalities and their numbers over time, counties, KOSTRA groups and industry codes. | CC BY 4.0 | Municipalities: 781 Municipality changes: 448 |
| Exchange rates Norges Bank |
Converting amounts in a foreign currency to NOK: the mean rate for the accounting period and the rate on the balance-sheet date. | NLOD | Rates: 6,228 |
| Primary and upper secondary schools (NSR) Kartverket og Utdanningsdirektoratet |
Schools in operation, the private share and pupils per school, summed per municipality. No names or addresses. | CC BY 4.0 og NLOD | Municipality values: 1,428 |
| Public health statistics Folkehelseinstituttet (FHI) |
Health and living conditions per municipality: life expectancy, low income, upper secondary, disability benefit and youth health. | NLOD 2.0 | Municipality values: 6,069 |
| Doffin Direktoratet for forvaltning og økonomistyring (DFØ) |
Public contracts and winners. Contact persons are never stored. | NLOD 2.0 | Notices: 43,535 Awards: 71,158 |
| NewsWeb (exchange announcements) Oslo Børs (Euronext) Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Announcements: 3,664 |
| News (RSS) Konkurransetilsynet Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Items: 10 |
| News (RSS) Finanstilsynet Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Items: 20 |
| Press releases (RSS) Norges Bank Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Items: 5 |
| News (RSS) Statistisk sentralbyrå (SSB) Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | CC BY 4.0 | Items: 9 |
| News (RSS) Regjeringen Not switched on |
Title, date, category and a link out. Not the text. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Items: 56 |
Private sources
Newspapers. We show only the headline, date and a link out, with the source credited. They are off until an administrator switches them on.
| Source | Used for | Licence | Stored |
|---|---|---|---|
| E24 (RSS) E24 (Schibsted) Not switched on |
Headline, date and a link out only, credited to E24. No standfirst, image or text. Never used in the question service. | Confirmed by our lawyer 27.10.2026 | No data yet |
| Dagens Næringsliv (RSS) DN Media Group Not switched on |
Headline, date and a link out only, credited to Dagens Næringsliv. No standfirst, image, author or text. Never used in the question service. | Confirmed by our lawyer 27.10.2026 | No data yet |
Our own calculations
Calculated by us from the sources above. Can be deleted and rebuilt.
| Source | Used for | Licence | Stored |
|---|---|---|---|
| Our own calculations Morning Analytics |
Indices, rankings, key figures, sector and municipality summaries. Calculated from the sources above. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | Company index scores: 616,454 Municipality index scores: 1,071 Municipality summaries: 2,769 |
Uploaded by an administrator
History an administrator has imported from CSV.
| Source | Used for | Licence | Stored |
|---|---|---|---|
| History from CSV Admin |
Account history uploaded by an administrator, marked as an import. | Not stated by the source. We show only title, date and a link. | No data yet |
Private services that process data
These are not data sources, but services that receive text from the site.
- Claude (Anthropic): The question service answers questions about our data. Off by default; the question and figures from the database are sent only when an administrator has turned it on.
Sources we do not use
Newspapers other than E24 and DN (not cleared), GDELT and Common Crawl (not recognised sources), the Norwegian Offshore Directorate (blocks automated retrieval).
See also Data governance · Methodology